Arts & Theater

8th Annual Inclusive Theatre Festival (ITF)

[ad_1]

Seesaw Theatre’s Eighth Annual Inclusive Theatre Festival was a weekend-long conference (11 & 12 November 2023) dedicated to celebrating innovation, education, and community in the fields of arts accessibility and inclusivity. This year’s conference was produced in collaboration with production collective Calling Up Justice. Presenters included performance project Sins Invalid, audiologist and advocate Tina Childress, and nationally-acclaimed playwright Tsehaye Geralyn Hébert. Whether you’re an actor, writer, researcher, director, educator, stage manager, designer, or producer: come to ITF to learn, explore, and innovate!

Schedule

Saturday 11 November at Norris University Center

Conference Opening – Aashna, Matthew, and Zoe

10:15 a.m. – 10:30 a.m. CST (Chicago, UTC -6) / 11:15 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. EST (New York, UTC -5)

 
Disability Consulting in Theatre: What, When, and Why – Aly Easton

10:30 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. CST (Chicago, UTC -6) / 11:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. EST (New York, UTC -5)

 
Making Theatre for All: Where Do We Begin? – Tsehaye Geralyn Hébert

11:45 a.m. – 12:45 p.m. CST (Chicago, UTC -6) / 12:45 p.m. – 1:45 p.m. EST (New York, UTC -5)

 
Accessibility Beyond Audiences: Attracting and Retaining Disabled Talent – Terri Lynne Hudson

2:45 p.m. – 3:30 p.m. CST (Chicago, UTC -6) / 3:45 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. EST (New York, UTC -5)

 
Perspectives from the House When Deaf or Hard of Hearing – Dr. Tina Childress

3:45 p.m. – 4:45 p.m. CST (Chicago, UTC -6) / 4:45 p.m. – 5:45 p.m. EST (New York, UTC -5)

 

Sunday 12 November on Zoom

Welcome to Day 2! – Aashna, Claudia Alick

10:15 a.m. – 10:30 a.m. CST (Chicago, UTC -6) / 11:15 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. EST (New York, UTC -5)

 
We need to stop ADDING access to the art. We need to start BUILDING access in the art. – MoMo Holt

10:30 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. CST (Chicago, UTC -6) / 11:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. EST (New York, UTC -5)

 
The Intersectionality of Authentic Storytelling – Simone Brazzini

11:45 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. CST (Chicago, UTC -6) / 12:45 p.m. – 1:30 p.m. EST (New York, UTC -5)

 
Crip Performance as Movement Building: Disability Justice and the Work of Sins Invalid – Sins Invalid

2:30 p.m. – 3:30 p.m. CST (Chicago, UTC -6) / 3:30 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. EST (New York, UTC -5)

 
Calling Up Justice: Access Across Space and Time – Claudia Alick

3:45 p.m. – 4:45 p.m. CST (Chicago, UTC -6) / 4:45 p.m. – 5:45 p.m. EST (New York, UTC -5)

 

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based, peer-produced, open-access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world’s performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and develop our knowledge commons collectively. Anyone can participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email [email protected] or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal. View the video archive of past events.



[ad_2]
Source link

Related Articles

Check Also
Close
Back to top button